Tattoos for the well informed.

Our story starts with you.

Chapter One Tattoo was formed in 2011 by a community of San Diego’s finest tattoo artists committed to respect, inventiveness, and exceptional customer service.

San Diego Tattoo Shop – Best of 2022

A Community of Artists

Specializes in black & gray and color realism, portrait work, and Japanese traditional @cashscotttattoo

Born and raised in California, it was easy for Cash to be influenced early on by an array of incredible art. It was within his own home that he found the most support, encouragement, and inspiration.

Read more

Frequently Asked Questions

You need to be 18 years old or older to get a tattoo in San Diego. No exceptions. It is against California State Law to tattoo a minor even with parental consent. Not only do you need to be 18 years old, but you need to prove it. Please remember to bring a valid state or federal id.

Once you’ve selected your preferred artist you can make an appointment by stopping in the shop, calling us directly or filling out the contact form with the details of your tattoo along with reference photos and preferred dates.

We have a shop minimum of $200. From there tattoo prices vary depending on artist, detail, size and placement. For a quote please submit a contact form or schedule a consultation (they’re free!).

We offer complimentary touch-ups up to 3 months after your initial tattoo appointment. Hand tattoos and foot tattoos do not apply. If your hand or foot tattoo needs a touch-up there will be a charge.

Sometimes! Certain areas on the body are more sensitive than others. The larger the tattoo the more likely it is to be uncomfortable. Smaller tattoos are usually pretty quick and easy. Keep in mind everyone has a different tolerance for pain. It’s more like a bittersweet burn, you can handle it.

Each tattoo is treated a little differently and your artist will go through the proper after care directions with you during your session. We recommend 3 products only: antibacterial unscented Dial soap, Aquaphor, and unscented Lubriderm lotion. For the most part – keep it clean and don’t pick at it. No pools, jacuzzi’s, baths or ocean for 2 weeks after you get tattooed. Plan accordingly!

Yes. Every appointment made requires a non-refundable and non-transferable deposit. The amount of the deposit is based on the length of your appointment and the artist.

Ready to get a Tattoo?

Stay in touch

Sign up for our email newsletter and receive news and updates from the team here in San Diego, CA at Chapter One Tattoo!